Linux for MK802

Forum to discuss the Rikomagic MK802 Mini PC

Moderators: KEgg, twjordo, tatubias

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby andykirby » Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:52 pm

Hmm, looks like we are having bandwidth issues all round due to the popularity of this. Also I noticed Chesterx's dropbox has hit a limit too.

I'll see what we can do about that.
andykirby
Site Admin
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 7:48 pm

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby chesterx » Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:05 pm

andykirby wrote:
chesterx wrote:I can get to login screen but once I log in tv goes completely horizontal?????Cannot see anything.


How strange, what TV/Display are you using? It might not support 50Hz refresh rate.


Its a 52" Sanyo, I did suspect frequency problems.
chesterx
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby Miniand » Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:49 pm

Hi everyone,

If you have a 512MB device and wish to use this image, you'll notice that you're getting graphics corruption. The reason for this is that the image is a 1GB image. To change the memory to 512MB, do the following (Linux and OSX):

  • If you haven't already, flash the image to your SD card as in the first post.
  • Download the 512MB u-boot: http://dl.miniand.com/allwinnera10/system/u-boot-512mb.bin.
  • Write the 512MB u-boot to your SD, making sure to be very careful that you specify the right device. My device was /dev/sdd: sudo dd if=u-boot-512mb.bin of=/dev/sdd bs=1024 seek=8
  • Run sync to make sure writing has finished: sudo sync

That should be it, you should be able to boot the image now without graphics corruption.
Mick
Miniand
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:48 am
Location: Canberra, Australia / Guangzhou, China

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby chesterx » Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:52 pm

Miniand wrote:Hi everyone,

If you have a 512MB device and wish to use this image, you'll notice that you're getting graphics corruption. The reason for this is that the image is a 1GB image. To change the memory to 512MB, do the following (Linux and OSX):

  • If you haven't already, flash the image to your SD card as in the first post.
  • Download the 512MB u-boot: http://dl.miniand.com/allwinnera10/system/u-boot-512mb.bin.
  • Write the 512MB u-boot to your SD, making sure to be very careful that you specify the right device. My device was /dev/sdd: sudo dd if=u-boot-512mb.bin of=/dev/sdd bs=1024 seek=8
  • Run sync to make sure writing has finished: sudo sync

That should be it, you should be able to boot the image now without graphics corruption.


Don't you mean to increase it to 1G?
chesterx
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby Miniand » Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:57 am

Nah, I mean change u-boot to 512MB. If you have a 512MB device and install a 1GB image like this one then we've found you get graphics corruption. The process outlined above changes your u-boot to 512MB if you happen to have a 512MB device.
Mick
Miniand
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:48 am
Location: Canberra, Australia / Guangzhou, China

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby EnvyThisStuff » Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:23 am

That was written semi-ambiguously, but no, it'll be 512MB for 512MB systems.
Run into a problem? Need ***Mini PC/MK802 services***?
(installing firmware, installing LINUX, getting/setting up SD cards, etc)
Contact us! http://www.EnvyThisStuff.com
EnvyThisStuff
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:57 am
Location: New York City

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby EnvyThisStuff » Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:28 am

I have what seems to be a 720p60 monitor with actual dimensions of 1366x768@16:9. So, when LINUX boots the top menu line is almost invisible. What's my best best of scaling it down right?

Edit: Actually it seems all 4 sides are falling off the screen.
Run into a problem? Need ***Mini PC/MK802 services***?
(installing firmware, installing LINUX, getting/setting up SD cards, etc)
Contact us! http://www.EnvyThisStuff.com
EnvyThisStuff
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:57 am
Location: New York City

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby Miniand » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:16 am

Envy, that happened on both of my TVs at home too. I had to set the TV display mode to an automatic scaling mode which fixed it for me. I guess it would depend on the TV, but have a play around with display modes and resolutions on your TV itself to see if you have any luck.
Mick
Miniand
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:48 am
Location: Canberra, Australia / Guangzhou, China

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby fredrikwe » Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:47 am

No, I have the same problem, never more than 200MB each try.
fredrikwe
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:01 pm

Re: Linux for MK802

Postby t-bon3 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 2:39 pm

fredrikwe wrote:No, I have the same problem, never more than 200MB each try.

You might want to try the newer and MUCH smaller (300mb) lubuntu 12.04 image from miniand:
https://www.miniand.com/forums/forums/2/topics/1
t-bon3
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:57 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Rikomagic MK802 Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests